It’s Chicken Enchiladas tonight, Baby!

I love Mexican foods, especially chimichangas and enchiladas.  Over the years I have tried my hand at a good many recipes to satisfy my cravings for Mexican fare, but it wasn’t until discovering this recipe at Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour that I feel I succeeded.  I’ve tweaked the rice and sauce portions just slightly to balance out the large amount of chicken this recipe produces; and it makes plenty for leftovers.  Hands down, these are the best enchiladas I’ve ever had!

Ingredients ~

Marinate chicken for at least 15 minutes.  Preheat oven to 375°.  Cook chicken (I like to grill mine) and shred.  Boil rice as directed on package.

You can shred the chicken by pulling it apart with two forks, over and over and over…

Mix the shredded chicken, cream cheese, and 2 cups of the enchilada sauce together.  This mixture makes a lot!  Pour a little sauce in your baking dish also, I like to cover the bottom with a thin layer.

Mix together until creamy.

Layer the rice and black beans on the tortillas to your liking.

Be sure to leave room for chicken mixture.

Top each tortilla with chicken mixture, and roll up.  Place seam-side down in prepared baking dish.

Try not to overfill tortillas.

In baking dish, top enchiladas with at least 1 cup of enchilada sauce.  Sprinkle shredded cheese over the top of enchiladas.

You may need a second (small) pan to use up the remaining ingredients. You could freeze the extra pan of enchiladas for a quick and easy meal another day!

Cheese makes everything better!

Cover the baking dish with foil (spray the underside of the foil with cooking spray), and bake at 375° for 25 minutes.  Remove foil, turn on broiler, and place dish under broiler for 3-5 minutes, or until cheese is lightly browned.

Enjoy!

I love to put a dollop (or two) of sour cream and freshly made guacamole on top before serving.

Some helpful hints ~

  • For added flavor, add 1/2 tablespoon dried cilantro (fresh would be awesome) and 2 tablespoons lime juice to rice while cooking.
  • If you have enough ingredients to make more enchiladas than your pan will hold (which is always the case for me), make a second, smaller pan and freeze (without baking first).  This will make an easy meal you can simply toss in the oven when  you don’t feel up to cooking.  Be sure to allow extra baking time to heat enchiladas all the way through.
  • To make easy and delicious wraps from leftover ingredients, simply add the rice, beans, and chicken to the tortillas (as above), roll them up, wrap in sandwich paper or tin foil individually, and refrigerate.  No sauce, cheese, or baking necessary.  These wraps are fabulous to pack for lunch, packing in a cooler for day trips, etc…
18 thoughts on “It’s Chicken Enchiladas tonight, Baby!

  1. Oh that sounds yummy! Gonna try them! I also love mexican… we might have to branch out from our usual lunch place and go mexican next time! Or better yet… I’ll come over for some chicken enchiladas! 🙂 Great pictures by the way!!

    Like

    • Aww, thank you much! Yes, Mexican would be a FABULOUS idea next time; let’s plan it soon!!! Thanks for visiting, my dear friend; can’t wait to hear how YOUR enchiladas turn out!

      Like

    • Pass that recipe of yours around, girlfriend! I think taking the pictures was the most fun, it forced me to dust off my creative side :-). My husband and son are picky eaters, yet they clean their plates with these enchiladas; it’s a great one to try! Thanks for stopping by!!

      Like

      • Oh I will, as soon as I get some help. This weekend I made the husband’s family banana bread recipe, took a ton of pics and will certainly post that recipe as soon as I’m able. I was thinking I have everything I need in the house to make yours except green chiles and tortillas. Maybe tomorrow.

        Like

  2. Next time we get together we need to make our own flour tortillas. It really takes two to make them but they can be frozen and they are awesome! You’ll never want to get the store-bought kind again! Your photographs look great! I was salivating… thinking of the ooey gooey yumminess!!

    Like

    • Thanks MJ, they are really delicious! My daughter has decided these will be on the menu for her birthday party coming up, geez… twist my arm, LOL! Thanks for stopping by, always good to see you & your plaid coffee mug on my comment list; makes me smile!

      Like

    • LOL, trust me… leftovers don’t last long :-). Great to have you stop by, and thanks so much for your comment. I stopped over to your blog tonight, and I’ll be back for more! Take care!!

      Like

Comments Appreciated...Thank You!!

